Indecision never tasted so good

I am way behind on these essays.  That was probably already apparent to you.  I have been held up not by an unwillingness to write, but rather an unwillingness to edit.  But now things have gone too far.  I have five essays (if you include tomorrow’s) to post.  I promise to post one essay a day until I’m caught up.  I am making a commitment here people, a commitment.  It may not be pretty, but it WILL be done.

My gut reaction to this question is Cake.  As I began thinking about this essay, I realized that the best argument I could create was on the pie side of the issue.  Still, my gut would not be denied.  To resolve this most serious of problems I settled on the most logical of options: to hold a Cake vs. Pie taste test.  I baked my favourite cake, and my favourite pie, and pitted them against each other in a no holds barred food tasting contest.  I’d like to thank my two impartial judges* for assisting me in this endeavour.

*aka, my mother and father

The Competitors:

From the Pie category: Banoffee Pie

This competitor boasts a smooth toffee filling encased by a graham cracker crust.  This dreamboat is topped with banana slices and fluffy piles of whipped cream with just a hint of espresso.  Decadent to the last, this pie sports a rustic charm and perfectly proportioned components.

From the Cake category: Chocolate Peanut-butter Triple (double) layer Cake

Sinfully Delicious pretty much describes this competitor.  A rich, moist, sour-cream chocolate cake provides the base for the creamy pb-cream cheese frosting.  It ups the ante by adding a chocolate-pb ganache as the final touch to an already ridiculously rich dessert.

The Results:

Appearance:

Unanimous votes on this one.  I mean really, look at that oozing chocolate.  The pie may have some rustic charm, but it can’t compete with the cool demeanor of the Cake.

Texture:

Contrast is the key to textural delight.  The Pie, with its crunchy crust, smooth caramel, fluffy whipped cream and mooshy** bananas was the clear winner here.  The Cake, so far, isn’t as beautiful on the inside as the out.

**Mooshy is a technical taste-testing term.

Taste:
This last category is the only one on which the judges disagreed.  The majority** agreed that the peanut-butter-chocolatey goodness of cake was a 10 000 on the taste scale.  Pie was the runner-up at 9 985.   I mean really, how can you compete with chocolate?

***A majority consisting of one person whose vote counted for 5 people.

If you’re mathematically inclined*** you may have realized that Cake is our winner here.  The point could be made that I had a confirmation bias going into this test.  You say confirmation bias, I say loyalty.  There’s nothing wrong with loyalty, after all, it’s Ron Weasley’s most touted character trait.  (I guess that makes Pie Malfoy?  Not Voldemort, Lord Voldy is 100% Grade A evil.  Pie, while not as great as cake, still has some redeeming qualities.  You know what, I’m going to go with Justin Flinch-Fletchey here.  Kind of a jerk/pompous at times, yet still a good character at heart.)

Extended Harry Potter metaphors aside, I like most cakes and a fewer percentage of all pies out there.  And in the end, that is the deciding point of this issue for me: I’d rather eat a cake than a pie.

****The requirements of which being the ability to count to three and understand that 2 is greater than 1.

Leave a Reply

